Take the Heat, Stay in the Kitchen

I’ve always handled stress well, I think. I may get a little short with people, but it’s generally when I’m trying to dodge the distraction (see previous post) and get the work done.

That being said, I do find it difficult to stay calm and focused when emotions are hot. And this affects my critical thinking skills in the moment, and afterward, I often think of other ways to approach the situation – ways that would have led to a more effective solution.

Well, Askmen.com says that stress becomes elevated when defensiveness and personal offense increases. Often, under time pressure, we may react bluntly or in a manner interpreted condescendingly. I definitely become more “efficient” with my words when I’m under pressure, and this can be construed as rude or accusatory. What I cannot control is how others around me interpret the words I have said. However, I can choose the words I say in a conscientious manner. Askmen.com suggests being the “Steadfast soldier”. I believe this is an ideal that everyone strives for, but it is difficult to stay levelheaded in the heat of the moment.

So how do I improve my “calm under fire?”

Well lets start with recognizing the triggers that set off those emotions. I will make a conscious effort to acknowledge that I’m getting worked up and frustrated, and take a moment to mentally calm myself down. It’s not perfect, but it’s a start. From there, I will try and focus on the solution, and the facts, and not let the emotions take over the situation. Wish me luck.

FITNESS REVIEW

Run yesterday, run today, Insanity tomorrow perhaps.

MUSIC CHALLENGE

Well I suppose the way to go here would be a song that calms me down. Easy.

Band of Horses – Window Blues

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment