One Month to Live

Well not quite.

After last year’s blog project fell short of it’s goal due to the death of my camera in late October, this space has been largely dormant. By largely, I mean completely. It’s always been sitting there, poking me periodically to redefine it’s purpose. Today, I found that purpose.

Yesterday, I had set a goal for myself, fitness-wise. I wanted to be under 200 pounds in time to go to the Sasquatch festival at the end of May. I’m currently 206, so this would require losing 7 pounds. I did the math. The festival is 23 days away – this is just over 2 pounds per week. Difficult? yes. Unrealistic? no. This would be a great dent in achieving my long term target of 185, and a great start to the summer.

Today, though, I dreamt of more. Yes, this is a good short-term fitness goal, but I could do more. Not necessarily fitness-wise, but in terms of taking control of my whole life. I live in a beautiful city, work in the most exciting industry in the world, and am surrounded by fantastic people. However, I have the problem that plagues many – I’m not satisfied, and I’m not motivated.  There are many reasons for my lack of satisfaction and motivation. Many of them are out of my control – the weather, the economy, the actions of others – but many more are fully in my control. My health, my career, my involvement in the world around me, and ultimately my outlook on my life, are all firmly within my grasp.

So, for 17 out of the next 23 days, I will post on a specific area of my life that I can control, and how I am working to improve it. They are broken into 3 categories – Personal, Professional, and Relational. I will also give periodic updates on past posts, as a benchmark to see how far things have come.

I will also use a musical theme as a backbone – each post i will list a song that fits the theme in a way that integrates into my life, loosely based around the “30 day song challenge“.

By May 26, I hope to be fitter, healthier, with stronger relationships, more motivation, control over my career, and a happier life over all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

